Johns Creek Photographer, Lifestyle
Leave a Comment

A Celebration . . . The Quinceanera Tradition – Part One

Several months ago I had the opportunity to meet the most delightful family through the horse show world. They asked me if I would be interested in doing a shoot with their daughter who would soon be celebrating her 15th birthday . . . in the Quinceanera tradition. They needed to have some shots done for the invitation that would be going out to family members and friends through the continental United States and Puerto Rico. I had no idea what a wonderful experience this would be and looked forward to the opportunity to work with them.

In September of 2009, I loaded up my equipment and drove down to a beautiful farm south of Atlanta . . . and found myself emersed in the wonderful early fall fog that we often see in Atlanta and green grass stretched out before me scattered with horses and ponies grazing, along with white fencing as far as your eye could see. It was an impressive view and I was lucky to have gotten there early to take it all in and set up and enjoy the quiet morning air, and I took this opportunity to get in a few Georgia morning shots.

After a few minutes on the farm, mom, Lillian, and daughter, Adrienne, drove up and we began our session. In the upcoming blogs, you will see how it all progressed and the Grand Finale that took place on December 19th, 2009. What a joyful event and well worth all of the work that the entire family worked so hard to put together!

But before I close on part one of this series, let me brief you on the Quinceanero tradition.

The Quinceanera is the Hispanic tradition of celebrating a young girl’s coming of age — her 15th birthday. These celebrations embrace religious customs and the virtues of family and social responsibility. This celebration recognizes her (la Quinceanera) journey from childhood to maturity and the customs highlight God, family, friends, music, food, and dance.

It is tradition for the Quinceanera to wear a ball gown, with her Court dressed in gowns and tuxedos. As we progress through this series, you’ll read more about the tradition and see it all unfold before your eyes.

Stay tuned for the upcoming segments! Before closing, let me introduce Adrienne and let you see a sneak peek from her formal ball gown shoot that will be featured in the next segment.


I look forward to your joining me in the upcoming post . . . and watch Adrienne’s walk from childhood to maturity unfold!

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO COMMENT HERE!

