Johns Creek Photographer, Lifestyle, Photography, Uncategorized
Comment 1

Does Saying “Cheese” Sound Cheesy? Pimento Cheese, That Is

I love to cook . . . most of the time.  In the days of children living at home, extracurricular activities, running here, there, and yonder, you become something on the order of “short-order cook.”  Then, at least to me, it becomes no fun.  But with our children gone from the home, having flown the coop, I sort of renewed my excitement of cooking, but I soon fell off the wagon because most of the time it was just my husband and I.  With my being a photographer, being gone at various hours of the day and night, sometimes I would cook, wrap it up, put it in the refrigerator, and we would eat on our own schedules.  Then I pretty much threw my hands in the air and said, well, we’ll make it up as we go along.

But, alas, I’ve become re-inspired to cook . . . go back to some old recipes, return to some old family recipes, and begin to invent some new ones.  So I set out to restock the cabinets and pantry with more spices and ingredients that had long since left my shelves as my creativity in the kitchen had pretty much started to resemble a flat tire . . . we could patch it and keep on moving along.

Of course, the day I choose to become a “cooking machine” is on a day when we have had our downstairs air conditioning unit out for two days.  The repairman is supposed to arrive today, but I was not wanting to wait to get started and I began to heat up the oven, pull out the Kitchenaid mixer and away I went.   So by 10:00 this morning, the grocery shopping was done, put away, and dinner for tonight was in the oven.   But I had been craving some pimento cheese and decided to just indulge and make some for my lunch today.

So a little while ago, I left my office, went downstairs, dipped up some of this lucious concoction, and had myself a little picnic on the porch.  So, in essence, my midday distraction.  I was feeling so good about my lunch that I just dipped it into Waterford crystal glasses, topped it with flatbread, and indulged.

I sort of stray from the typical pimento cheese recipe and so I’ll share.  It probably won’t qualify as low-fat or low-calorie, but it’s good . . . and good for the southern soul.

Homestyle Pimento Cheese

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

8 ounces mild cheddar cheese, shredded

2.5 ounces of crumbled bacon pieces (I used Hormel)

1/2 cup pimento, partially drained

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Mix cheeses, add in bacon pieces and pimento, salt and pepper, and mix thoroughly.  Enjoy!   I love it with flatbread crackers and on toast (yes, for breakfast!)

So until next time, just say “cheese”!!!  (Oh, wait, that was a bad . . . coming from a photographer!)  Oh, well, see you soon!

1 Comment

  1. Teresa Smith says

    Cheese..It’s whats for lunch!! Fun story!! i will have to make some!!

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO COMMENT HERE!

